Book Reviews

Book Review: Vicious by V.E. Schwab

9781250183507_p0_v4_s550x406

~Book 1 in The Villains Series (2013) 366 Pages~

Synopsis: Victor and Eli started out as college roommates; in their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities.

rate four

-Arrives late with a Starbucks in hand- I’m ready to join the Victoria Schwab hype!

In my defense, I only found out about this book last year, and it took a while to track down a copy I could afford (you can check out my post on how I buy my books). Luckily, I got to read this book right before Vengeful, the second book, is to be released, which means I’m right on schedule.

Like I’ve mentioned before, I decided to read this book entirely based on the hype around her books; and I did hear about this book last year, and I knew what the book was about back then, but when I finally got around to reading the book, I could not remember a single thing from the synopsis, and decided to just go into the book like that. Because the hype was so high on this book, the fact that I didn’t know a single thing about the plot made it more enjoyable for me to read.

I found the plot very unique and captivating, the writing was complex but really easy to get through, and it definitely added to the story. The collection of characters that we got to meet in this book are nothing short of marvelous; I did not expect to find myself reading about these characters all in the same story, let alone the main group of characters gang up together. I also love when authors play with morally grey characters (actually morally gray, not evil but they are hot) and the situations they get into.

Overall, this was an amazing read, I cannot wait for Vengeful to come out, and if you are looking for a good adult fantasy, I would definitely recommend this.

 

Let me know your thoughts down below; have you read this book? What did you think? Do you want to read this book?

 

P.S. I decided that if I want to do a detailed review, I’ll just make it a separate discussion post. If you want a full spoiler-y discussion, please let me know down below and I’d be more than happy to do it.

 

Let’s be friends! –> You can follow me on social media (Instagram and Twitter) and add me on Goodreads.

Love,

Jossie, The Bookdragon.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Vicious by V.E. Schwab

      1. I actually couldn’t find it in my local stores (probably because of the hype for Vengeful) so I’m trying to find it online for cheaper than amazon

        Like

  1. I’ve been really wanting to read a book by this author! I’ve heard so many good things. Glad you enjoyed this one😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment